Katame No Kata

The Katame-No-Kata was developed by Jigoro Kano as a method of illustrating principles of grappling to allow students to more effectively apply them in randori. Initially, the kata consisted of ten techniques. These were subsequently appended, bringing the number to fifteen.
The Katame no Kata was developed at the Kodokan between 1884 and 1887 following the development of the Nage no Kata. It is composed of three groups of grappling techniques each with five representative techniques. Your goal is to acquire the methods of controlling your opponent in your practice of Katame No Kata.

Click here for the official Kodokan Judo Institute Kata text book.

Osaekomi-waza (Holding techniques)

1. Kesa-gatame
2. Kata-gatame
3. Kami-shiho-gatame
4. Yoko-shiho-gatame
5. Kuzure-kami-shiho-gatame

Shime-waza (Choking techniques)

1. Kata-juji-jime
2. Hadaka-jime
3. Okuri-eri-jime
4. Kataha-jime
5. Gyaku-juji-jime

Kansetsu-waza (Joint lock techniques)

1. Ude-garami
2. Ude-hishigi-juji-gatame
3. Ude-hishigi-ude-gatame
4. Ude-hishigi-hiza-gatame
5. Ashi-garami